Samuel Aranda wins World Press Photo 2012

World Press Photo of the Year 2011 by Samuel Aranda

“They called me yesterday around 7pm, and told me that I had won the World Press Photo,” Samuel Aranda tells BJP in his first interview of the day. “At that exact moment, I was checking my bank account because I didn’t know how I was going to pay my rent this month. I was crunching numbers to make it work.” (Click here to read more)

Jury chair Aidan Sullivan: “The winning photo shows a poignant, compassionate moment, the human consequence of an enormous event, an event that is still going on. We might never know who this woman is, cradling an injured relative, but together they become a living image of the courage of ordinary people that helped create an important chapter in the history of the Middle East.”

Samuel Aranda wins World Press Photo 2012

Leave a Reply

